Thu, Nov 23



MIAE 2017-2018 Graduate Seminar 3

Graduate Seminar Organized by MIAE Graduate Student Committee and Montreal OR Student Chapter Mandatory event for first year PhD student of MIAE department, and grad students who are taking seminar course.

Registration is Closed
See other events
MIAE 2017-2018 Graduate Seminar 3

Time & Location

Nov 23, 2017, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

EV.12.163, 1515 Rue Sainte-Catherine O, Montréal, QC H3G 2W1, Canada

About The Event

"Software Tools for Public Transit Scheduling and Optimization at GIRO "

Given by Anne Mercier, Ph.D. - Senior Project Manager at Giro Inc.

Abstract :

This presentation is an overview of the optimisation tools developed at Giro for public transit scheduling. A wide range of tools are used: from specialized algorithms to column generation and metaheuristics. Each stage of the scheduling process requires its own algorithms. The common aspect of all algorithms developed is that they need to be flexible and robust to be able to solve problems of different sizes and complexity. Challenges coming from recent needs in the transit industry will also be discussed: demand-oriented timetabling and electric bus scheduling.


Anne Mercier received her B.Com in Management Science and Information Systems and M.Sc. in Operations Research from McGill university and HEC Montreal, respectively. She was a part-time lecturer at HEC Montreal for 10 years while doing her Ph.D. and working. She obtained her Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics from École Polytechnique de Montréal, under the supervision of Prof. François Soumis winning the dissertation prize from the Aviation Applications Section of INFORMS. She was a post doctoral fellow at CIRRELT working on bi-level models and solution methods for Hazardous materials transportation after which she joined ExPretio for five years and GIRO for another five years. At GIRO, she is the expert in fine-tuning of the crew and vehicle scheduling algorithms and also leads the European projects group working with clients from Belgium, Germany, Spain and the Netherlands.

Share This Event